The Early Years

Def Leppard

CD Box Set

As one of the world’s best-selling music artists, Def Leppard have sold more than 100 million records worldwide, and have two albums with RIAA Diamond Certification, Pyromania and Hysteria.

They are one of only five rock bands with two original studio albums selling over 10 million copies in the U.S. The band was ranked No. 31 in VH1’s “100 Greatest Artists of Hard Rock” and ranked No. 70 in “100 Greatest Artists of All Time” and in 2019 were inducted to the Rock n Roll hall of fame.

The Early Years box set represents the band’s first two albums: On Through the Night (1980) and High ‘N’ Dry (1981) and has been prepared in conjunction with singer Joe Elliott who has acted as executive producer on the set. The mastering has been done by the band’s long-serving sound engineer Ronan McHugh.

On Through the Night, the band’s debut album was released in 1980 and immediately put the rock world on notice. The band were destined for big things with the album charting at #15 in the UK and #51 in the US. Produced by Tom Allom, it featured many of the band’s live favourites and some updated versions of early singles. The album achieved platinum status in 1989.

High ‘N’ Dry, the first of Def Leppard’s albums to be produced by Robert ‘Mutt’ Lange, was released in 1981. It reached #26 in the UK charts and #38 in the US, further cementing the bands status.

This deluxe set comes with 5 CDs consisting of the original albums, various B-sides and re-mix versions, Radio One sessions, Live from Reading and the first-ever appearance of an unreleased and newly mixed show from Oxford in 1980.

Inside the box is a history of the albums written by Mojo and Classic Rock writer Paul Elliott (no relation) featuring personal insights from the band on the making and releasing of those early records as well as rare photos and memorabilia.

In stock

Discs: 5

More Information

More Information
Release Date 20 Mar 2020
Cat No 6731408
Label UMC / Mercury

5CD Box Set


  1. Rock Brigade
  2. Hello America
  3. Sorrow Is A Woman
  4. It Could Be You
  5. Satellite
  6. When the Walls Came Tumbling Down
  7. Wasted
  8. Rocks Off
  9. It Don't Matter
  10. Answer to The Master
  11. Overture


  1. Let It Go
  2. Another Hit and Run
  3. High N Dry (Saturday Night)
  4. Bringin' On the Heartache
  5. Switch 625
  6. You Got Me Runnin'
  7. Lady Strange
  8. On Through the Night
  9. Mirror Mirror (Look into My Eyes)
  10. No No No


  1. When the Walls Came Tumbling Down
  2. It Could Be You
  3. Rock Brigade
  4. Satellite
  5. Medicine Man
  6. Answer to the Master
  7. When the Rain Falls
  8. Sorrow Is a Woman
  9. Good Morning Freedom
  10. Don't Matter to Me
  11. Overture
  12. Lady Strange
  13. GetchaRocks Off
  14. Hello America
  15. Wasted
  16. Ride into The Sun


  1. Ride into The Sun - The Def Leppard EP
  2. Getcha Rocks Off - The Def Leppard EP
  3. The Overture - The Def Leppard EP
  4. Wasted -Single
  5. Hello America - Single
  6. Rock Brigade - Unreleased Nick Tauber produced version
  7. Glad I'm Alive - Unreleased Nick Tauber produced version
  8. Good Morning Freedom - Single
  9. Let It Go - Single Edit
  10. Switch 625 - Single Edit
  11. Bringin' On the Heartbreak - Single Edit
  12. Me and My Wine - Original Version
  13. Bringin' On the Heartbreak - Remix
  14. Me and My Wine - Remix


  1. Glad I'm Alive (Andy Peebles Session - 07/06/1979)
  2. Sorrow Is A Woman (Andy Peebles Session - 07/06/1979)
  3. Wasted (Andy Peebles Session - 07/06/1979)
  4. Answer to The Master (Andy Peebles Session - 07/06/1979)
  5. Satellite (Friday Rock Show Session - 03/10/1979)
  6. Rock Brigade (Friday Rock Show Session - 03/10/1979)
  7. Wasted (Friday Rock Show Session - 03/10/1979)
  8. Good Morning Freedom (Friday Rock Show Session - 03/10/1979)
  9. Satellite / When the Walls Came Tumbling Down (Live at the Reading Festival - 24/08/1980)
  10. Medicine Man (Live at the Reading Festival - 24/08/1980)
  11. The Overture (Live at the Reading Festival - 24/08/1980)
  12. Lady Strange (Live at the Reading Festival - 24/08/1980)
  13. Getcha Rocks Off (Live at the Reading Festival - 24/08/1980)

Deliveries are currently taking a bit longer than normal due to Covid-19, please bear with us.

Couriers and postage companies are currently charging a Covid-19 levy on all International orders, so you may find that shipping costs at the moment are higher than normal. We are working to find alternative ways to bring the costs down.

We ship from the UK. Shipping Options available at check out are determined by the weight of items in your cart, the cost of items, and your shipping destination.

Due to the UK leaving the EU, from January 1st 2021 you, the customer, will be named as importer under DAP (delivered at place) terms and will therefore be responsible for any additional customs & duty fees in the country of arrival.

Standard Mail: untracked delivery via your local postal service.
Tracked Mail: tracked delivery via your local postal service, with no signature and limited tracking detail dependant on your location.
Courier: via DPD, DHL or UPS dependant on your location.

Transit times cannot be guaranteed and are dependant on your shipping destination.

If you have a question about delivery of your order or just want to say hello, please email us: